surrounded by clouds

Day 4 – 270 to go…

La fheile Phadraig sona duit! (Happy St Patrick’s Day)

Hope you’re having a fun-filled day.

So, I’m sitting in the SCO office as I type this.

To be honest I’m not sure I’ve got a lot to blog about – it’s less hot here now (which is a bit of a relief since the temperature difference from Newcastle in March to Cape Town in March was a little disconcerting) and I’m well, but I really just want to be in Jo’burg and getting on with work. It’s lovely to be in Cape Town and to meet the people I have and all of that, but I’m starting to feel at a bit of a loose end and would just like to be doing something!

So, this isn’t a terribly interesting post – and yet I did promise some photos. So…

The waterfall and some lifts (elevators)

The waterfall and some lifts (elevators)

Firstly – as requested – proof of the Dubai airport waterfall. This was taken at five o’clock in the morning, and as I finished what I can only assume was the sunrise call to prayer began to play over the loudspeaker system. I then went back to my groovy airport recliner and got involved in a random chat with a Canadian guy named Keith who was on his way home from Afghanistan (where he is a civilian defense contracter) to Ottawa (via Dubai and Heathrow).

Also whilst in the airport I had a text conversation with my dad on Skype, and watched a little bit of ‘Strictly Ballroom’ on my laptop until the battery started to run down.

Simonsburg

Simonsburg

The photo on the left was taken on Saturday at Simonsburg (the church camp where I went with Charlene, Caitlin and Daniel). It was a HOT day – I was literally melting (well, clearly not literally because that would be extremely weird and perhaps worthy of some kind of medical treatment) but it was a lot of fun anyway. There was a meeting in the morning with singing and a brief talk, then people went swimming and we had ice pops (which they call ‘bunny licks’ – odd), Charlene and I took the kids for a wee walk, we had lunch, chatted to some folks, went back to the pool and then drove back to Cape Town.

A lovely day, and as seen by the photo – beautiful.

In summary – waiting for some action.

This entry was published on March 17, 2009 at 11:10 am. It’s filed under Other and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Day 4 – 270 to go…

  1. Philippa on said:

    Is that Afrikaans at the top? Genuinely the best St Paddy’s Day greeting EVER.

    • ellidhcook on said:

      Nope – that would be Irish (although without the accents because I don’t know how to do them on wordpress)!

  2. Pingback: On March 16th. | surrounded by clouds

Leave a Reply

