surrounded by clouds

On Spring

Today is the first day of Spring – it’s official! And I have to say that I am pretty excited about the fact that spring weather here is hotter than a good summer day in the old country. Admittedly, in about two weeks I’ll probably start complaining about the heat and the fact that I’m melting. But right now, I’ve just got joy, joy, joy, joy down in my heart (both because of the love of Jesus, and the fact that I get to start wearing summer skirts and flip-flops again!)

I spent this past weekend at the church camp, which was a great deal of fun. We had PJ Smyth (Pastor of the Jo’burg New Frontiers church – GodFirst) speaking on how and why we should love Jo’burg – a message that I definitely needed to hear after the events of the previous Monday – and just a generally lovely time of hanging out in the sunshine and getting to know new people. Very wonderful.

Then, yesterday and today have been spent with my lovely SCO Wits peeps, on a retreat. There were ten of us in total, studying God’s word, praying and just spending time with one another and it was certainly an encouraging time. A particular highlight came yesterday evening when we took a trip up Northcliff Hill (Jo’burg’s highest point) to watch the sunset, sing praises to God and pray over the city. Also very wonderful. [click on the photos to make them bigger!]

And in other news – along with all of the many other people who are on strike here at the mo, it has recently come to my attention that the postal service have been in that gang for the last few weeks, so if you’ve sent me something recently and are wondering why I’ve been rude and not said thank you, that’s because it hasn’t been delivered.

However, if you sent me something a little longer ago and haven’t heard anything, it’s also not down to my rudeness, but most likely has been stolen somewhere between landing in South Africa and arriving at my house. The joy of living here.

Thanks for the thought though eh?

In summary: spring has sprung and I am happy.

This entry was published on September 1, 2009 at 3:53 pm. It’s filed under Work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “On Spring

  1. Parental unit (male) on said:

    So how has October been, and might there be another post within a month?

Leave a Reply

