surrounded by clouds

On catching up.

My apologies for my lack of blogging recently. Again.

I have been fairly busy, but I’m back being a lady of leisure again (read: jobless) so much more time to blog and knit and visit lovely friends again. Joy.

Yesterday I took a wee trip up north to spend an afternoon in St Andrews. Quite a long way to go for an afternoon – but totally worth it to see such sweet people as Connie and Zoe. Lovely.

I had a nice easy train journey – with a somewhat frustrating knitting experience, when I did a bit of measuring and realised that my lazy swatching had come back to wreck my day again, since I had rather overestimated the number of stitches needed and the Monster was starting to look like it might take over the world.

Ripping a project back to the very beginning and starting again is an unpleasant thing to do at the best of times. Knowing that you would never have had to if only you had been a little more dedicated in your preparation makes it rather worse. And doing on a train, whilst trying not to wake the sleeping man in the next seat is the icing on the cake.

But, it’s all okay now, I’ve caught up back to where I was before the ripping began, the monster is back under control.

It was lovely to be back in sunny St Andrews again, although slightly freaked out by the realisation that it’s nearly three years since I graduated. Feeling old. But I had a great time, doing some catching up, visiting various coffee shops, tasting Jannetta’s ice cream again, and embarrassing Connie by doing my best tourist impression, taking photos of bits of wall (see below). Good times.

In other news: getting swept up in election fever. I’m actually writing this post whilst watching the Leader’s Debate live on Sky News. It’s kind of exciting to see British people get interested in this whole election malarky – just have to wait and see whether the interest now develops into numbers at the polling stations on May 6th.

In summary: enjoying  knitting, trains, friends and politics.

This entry was published on April 22, 2010 at 8:56 pm. It’s filed under Play, Rest and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “On catching up.

  1. Cassie on said:

    What are your plans for future? Have a suggestion for Sept…

  2. Pingback: On 400. | surrounded by clouds

Leave a Reply

