surrounded by clouds

On wanting to be a domestic goddess (but failing).

I am not a domestic goddess. But I really, really want to be.

Especially in the arena of cooking. Which makes my surname a particularly cruel twist of fate/ironic happenstance/curse I must bear.

I can cook – because I can read – but my apathy towards the whole enterprise means that although I have frequent bouts of good intention in this area, these phases are quickly left by the wayside while I resort to bowls of Crunchy Nut Cornflakes for tea.

Two of my most favourite (favouritest?) people in all the world are also two of the best cooks in the world – Mrs Fiona Koefoed-Jespersen made my fourth year of university about 100 times better than it might have been because of her devotion to baking (and then sharing that baking with me) and Mrs Kimberley Mansfield-Reid, is considered by a significant portion of Jo’burg to be the final authority on all things food-related and has even baked on a professional-basis (sort of).

And basically, I want to be like them. I want to be a proper girl.

So, new solemn pledge: do more domestic-goddess-type activities.

  • Continue knitting  (’cause that’s a fairly useful domestic skill)
  • Learn to use a sewing machine (’cause whilst I can – and do – hand-sew my own clothes, I’d really like to take it up properly, which requires a machine and the necessary skill to make it work)
  • Tidy my room (probably my major failing in the domestic arts arena – would you believe that I have actually been employed as a cleaner twice in the last ten years, and yet moving back in with my parents has apparently made me revert to teenage room-tidying habits).
  • Expand my cookery skills. I’ve been ‘baking’ a wee bit more recently, especially since I started to help out at the mothers and toddlers group at church, but I need to do more, and I need to learn more. Particularly since I’ve volunteered to make tablet (hard fudge) to sell at a coffee morning a week on Saturday – which reminds me… does anybody have a recipe for making tablet (hard fudge) that I can sell at a coffee morning a week on Saturday? Please?

In summary: trying to improve myself.

This entry was published on May 13, 2010 at 7:44 pm. It’s filed under Play, Work and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “On wanting to be a domestic goddess (but failing).

  1. Layo on said:

    Ellie,

    I have little doubt of your domestic skills. Loving your blog hun.

    Layo

  2. Parental unit (male) on said:

    Try this one: http://scruss.com/tablet.html – looks good.

    Pa

  3. “revert to teenage habits”? I don’t remember you being tidy in your twenties either 😉

    but yey for baking!!

Leave a Reply

