surrounded by clouds

On SLOBS

Today I went to my first ever SLOBS meeting.

If you wondering what on earth SLOBS is well… fair enough. I did too.

It stands for Study Leader’s Own Bible Study, which is fine. I’m totally cool with the concept. In fact, more than ‘cool with’: I heart it.

However, I highly dislike the acronym, simply because it makes me feel a little bit sick every time I say it.

Still, I’ll get over that I suppose, and despite the grim name, the thing itself is great.

Today I was with the Newcastle CU small group leaders, hearing some really encouraging feedback from freshers’ week, finding out what things they found good and difficult last year, and getting excited about studying Colossians this term.

Loving this bit, as always:

“For in him [Christ] the whole fullness of deity dwells bodily, and you have been filled in him, who is the head of all rule and authority.”

– Colossians 2:9-10

As far as I’m concerned it’s a good summary statement of Paul’s whole letter to the Colossians: Jesus is fully God, and if you’re a Christian then you’ve got all of Jesus, so you’ve got all of God.

So if anyone tells you need Jesus plus no alcohol, or Jesus plus mandatory speaking in tongues, or Jesus plus pews and an organ, or Jesus plus anything… well, they’re just wrong.

Which is a good thing to remember.

In summary: disliking the acronym but loving the concept. And Jesus.

This entry was published on October 4, 2010 at 10:00 pm. It’s filed under God, Work and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “On SLOBS

  1. Jesus and knitting?

  2. ellidhcook on said:

    Well – obviously.

Leave a Reply

