surrounded by clouds

On purpose.

Made another skirt this evening. What joy – although a very much slower process than it has been, due to the fact that all my sewing is being done by hand currently.

A glimpse of the skirt

This morning I was in town for a meeting and had two noteworthy experiences on the journey in. The first was that for the first time in my 26 years of life I was on a bus where an inspector got on and demanded to see everyone’s ticket. I honestly thought the stories of bus inspectors was just urban legend, but apparently not – so rather glad I knew where my ticket was.

The second was that before the inspector-incident I overheard one of the saddest comments I have in a while.

Two students were chatting about an acquaintance who had got pregnant last year, apparently she had considered having an abortion but had decided that ‘she may as well keep it.’ So she had.

I honestly thought I might cry. How sad that that could be someone’s comment about a human being.

Thank God that he intervened enough so that that girl was convinced to have her child, and I do pray that that baby grows up loved, and never has to hear a comment like that about themselves.

This quote from Rick Warren came to mind:

You are not an accident. Your parents may not have planned you, but God did. He wanted you alive and created you for a purpose. Focusing on yourself will never reveal your real purpose. You were made by God and for God, and until you understand that, life will never make sense. Only in God do we discover our origin, our identity, our meaning, our purpose, our significance, and our destiny.

It’s from The Purpose Driven Life, which I haven’t read. But apparently it has recently appeared on Starbucks coffee cups as part of their “The Way I See It” campaign.

I like it. I hate hearing people talk about children as ‘accidents’, or generally just be so casual about life, in the way that those girls were this morning. But I am glad that it’s not true, and that God has a plan – for everyone.

Also glad for people who don’t think that way about their children – and especially thankful for Hannah and Philipp and the newest member of their wee family – Tobias Andrew – born on Wednesday morning.

Welcome to the world little man. Praying hard that you’ll grow up to love Jesus.

In summary: confident in plans.

This entry was published on October 7, 2010 at 10:48 pm. It’s filed under God and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “On purpose.

Leave a Reply

