surrounded by clouds

On some seasonal tunes.

I’m feeling a lot more full of the Christmas-spirit today.

My lovely flatmate S.J. arrived home today and pulled out a box of decorations, so our living room is now literally decked with (fake) boughs of holly. Which is rather nice.

And tomorrow I’ll be attending not just one, but two whole carol services.

In the morning I’ll be singing carols at Christ Church, before heading to the station and catching a train back to Carlisle for a second service at St Michael’s. Exciting!

In the meantime I’ve been listening to a variety of different Christmas musical offerings, which I would like to recommend to you now.

Sweet Bells by Kate Rusby.

Kate is one of my favourite singers of all time. She’s an English folk musician who sings with a beautiful Yorkshire accent, and I love all of her music, but especially this Christmas album. It’s very pretty sounding, and with lots of carols, often with tunes that I’d never heard before, but which are all really delightful.

Handel’s Messiah.

It’s a classic obviously. The Hallelujah Chorus is great, clearly, but my absolute favourite is Ev’ry Valley Shall Be Exalted. The only downside to the album is the fact that I have to really concentrate to stop myself from singing along when I’m in public – and looking like a fruit-loop.

 

Let it Snow Baby, Let it Reindeer by Relient K.

Love, love, love this. Some carols, some classic Christmas tunes, and some really excellent original material. My absolute favourite is I Celebrate the Day, with this fabulous chorus:

“And the first time that You opened Your eyes

Did You realize that You would be my Savior.

And the first breath that left Your lips,

Did You know that it would change this world forever.”

 

I Wonder as I Wander from Northern Lights by Gretchen Peters

I heard this carol for the first time earlier this week at the Newcastle & Northumbria carol service, when it was performed for us by the choir, and I really loved it so decided to go searching for a rendition on iTunes. I ended up choosing this version by Gretchen Peters, because it’s a bit more folk-y than most, and that’s just how I roll.

If you’ve got any good Christmas tunes that you’d like to recommend to me then please do – I’m always in the market for more music.

In summary: back in the spirit.

This entry was published on December 18, 2010 at 11:30 pm. It’s filed under Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

