surrounded by clouds

On the Butterfly Cabinet

Next in my review of places to visit in Newcastle is a lovely wee restaurant called The Butterfly Cabinet.

Top priority on moving to a new city, (after finding somewhere to have a good cup of coffee) is finding a place where I can enjoy one of my most favourite luxuries in life.

I need to know where I can get either a good afternoon tea, or a good breakfast.

So far the tea situation is still waiting to be resolved – any recommendations are obviously welcome – but the breakfast place has been found. Joy.

Some things I love about it:

  • It’s in Heaton (the lovely area of town where I happen to live, so I can walk there).
  • They cover the menus in old comic books, so you have something to read while you’re waiting.
  • The decor is pretty and random and vintage and interesting.
  • The coffee is amazing.
  • The breakfast is brilliant, especially my usual choice: eggy bread (made with thick homemade white bread, and egg mixed with cream) and bacon and maple syrup.

It’s a great place. You can find a map here. And enjoy some photos below:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In summary: still looking for somewhere for tea.

This entry was published on January 26, 2011 at 8:50 pm. It’s filed under Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “On the Butterfly Cabinet

  1. I’m taking notes for when I come to visit 🙂 Brussels sucks at good breakfast places. Or at least I’ve never found one… but then the number of times I’m actually awake and looking for food at a time roughly known as “breakfast” are few and far between!

  2. Cassie on said:

    Looks delicious – mmmmn

  3. I actually make an amazing breakfast (possibly the only thing I can cook!). Next time you are in Carlizzle you must come to my house so I can make one for you xx

Leave a Reply

