surrounded by clouds

On finding a perfect recipe.

I’ve just made soda bread. I didn’t intend to, but then I went to lunch after church, and there were three Northern Irish people there, and we started talking about soda bread, and then I really, really wanted to eat some soda bread, and so I decided to make some.

If I had been back in Carlisle then I would have used, what I consider to be, the perfect soda bread recipe. This recipe is from The Pauper’s Cookbook by Jocasta Innes. I’m not sure that it’s necessarily the best soda bread in the world, but it is the one that my mum always makes, and so it is soda bread as far as I’m concerned.

However, since I left home I have been without a copy of that cookbook, and so relied instead upon the wealth of recipes available to me on the internet.

I’ve tried a few different versions, but so far have been less than successful in finding one that tastes good.

Today I tried one by Rachel Allen. It’s nice. Not perfect, but pretty close I reckon.

In summary: craving satisfied.

This entry was published on February 13, 2011 at 8:35 pm. It’s filed under Other and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “On finding a perfect recipe.

  1. I now really, really, REALLY want soda bread – thanks El!!! I may persuade one of the parentals to get baking xxx

  2. yeah, me too! Dad if you are reading this email me the recipe please… xxx

Leave a Reply

