surrounded by clouds

On two of my favourite things.

I spent a very fun Saturday afternoon with some of the Northumbria CU ladies.

Delightful is most definitely the word.

The Northumbria CU boys had decided on a game of football and all-you-can-eat-buffet (except for their brief visit to our gathering) so we went for something a wee bit more refined (not to mention warmer and less muddy), namely, afternoon tea and some knitting.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Claire and Clare provided the fairy cakes, and I brought along some Earl Grey Blue Lady and some knitting know-how to share with the group.

I must say though, my knitting tutorial skills certainly need some work. It’s weird how difficult I find it to teach people the basics.

My big dilemma at the moment is deciding which type of cast on is best to learn first.

When I taught Kate and Jess last term I tried to teach cable cast on first, and they really struggled so I switched to long tail cast on and they got it really quickly.

Today I started with the long tail, and it was kind of a disaster. So I tried cable instead and they were knitting in no time.

Why?

A proper mystery. Any knitting insight from those in the know? Bearing in mind that I’m doing another knitting class at Forum:NorthEast next weekend, I’d love to try and improve my lessons.

In summary: a fabulously sweet afternoon.

This entry was published on February 19, 2011 at 11:51 pm. It’s filed under Play, Work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

