surrounded by clouds

On being happy that it’s Halloween

Happy Halloween y’all. And Happy Reformation day too, natch.

I have to say that Halloween has not exactly been a major feature of my life these last 27 years.

I remember that the Big Sis and I got witch costumes one year – I’m not sure why we had them, or from whom they came, but I definitely remember them existing.

I also remember my dear Papa forbidding me from attending a Halloween party when I was 9 (he may not remember it, but these moments of childhood deprivation are naturally burned in my memory).

I remember trick-or-treaters (dressed in a bin-bag masquerading as a ‘costume’) visiting in the days surrounding Halloween, and being highly disappointed when all they got was an apple (since we were not a house that had sweets casually lying around to be handed over to scallies).

I remember moving to Scotland and seeing folk dooking for apples for the first time (a heck of a lot harder than it looks).

But that’s about it.

I think I was probably generally opposed to the concept – dressing up as witches and demons felt a little far from ‘appropriate’ – but it’s not exactly been a major theme I’ve thought lots about.

Until this year.

On Friday Durham CU put on one of their fortnightly lunchbars, with the title ‘Why God Loves Halloween’ and got Peter Dray to come and speak. He’s put the talk up on his blog (part 1 here, part 2 here, and part 3 here) and I’d really, really encourage you to go a read it. Very interesting.

It’s certainly not coincidence that Martin Luther chose October 31st to nail his 95 Theses to the door of Wittenberg Cathedral – hence today also being ‘Reformation Day’ – and this new info has definitely given me a different outlook on Halloween.

I’d love to hear what other folk think – so if you have time comment with an answer to this question:

What do you think about Halloween?

In summary: pondering.

This entry was published on October 31, 2011 at 10:28 am. It’s filed under Randomness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “On being happy that it’s Halloween

  1. Parental unit (male) on said:

    You’re right, I have no recollection at all. I did draw the line at allowing my offspring to dress up and go around the neighbourhood extracting confectionery with malice, mainly because I would have to endure the embarassment of coming with them as minder. I have never taken a hard-line fundy attitude against the Feast of the Vigil of All Hallows – I am with Steve Tilley (http://stevetilley.blogspot.com/2009/10/happy-halloween.html) on this one, if I did say ‘no’ it was more likely because of the unsuitability of whichever little ghoul was hosting it

  2. They were a present from Granny! There were witches’ hats and Vampire capes! They were awesome and we may have had broomsticks but I don’t remember. We went to a joint Brownie and Guide Halloween party in a Church Hall. We had party food and sang Guiding camp-fire songs.

    Your nieces would love to tell Grandpa about how many sweeties they got when they went trick or treating on Monday. It was like a Halloween street party on Latrigg Close.

    Oh and I have added pumpkin & skeleton banners to my Halloween collection which includes a dancing Grim Reaper and a flashing green ghost.

Leave a Reply

