surrounded by clouds

On names

Struggling for a blog topic for today I went for a visit to the Daily Post to trawl for inspiration and came across this question:

If you had to change your first name, what would you change it to?

When I was younger I really did not like my name. If you had asked me this question when I was about 12 I think I would have chosen either ‘Jessica’ or ‘Harriet’ as my new name. I’m not totally sure why, but they were both top of my list as names that would make me a beautiful, popular and happy girl.

Then, when I was 16 I sort of did change my name. Up until that point I had gone by ‘Eleanor’, since that’s what’s on my birth certificate (oh, and despite the spelling it’s pronounced Ele-NA, not Ele-NOR, just so you know) but when I got into sixth form I decided to have a new start and became an ‘Ellidh’.

The only one who still knows me as ‘Eleanor’ is my granny. The rest of my family took a bit of time to adjust to the name change, but they’ve all made the shift. And most of my friends only know me as ‘Ellidh’, and demonstrate much shock and disbelief when they find out that my ‘real name’ is Eleanor.

I remember one friend, on finding out, say: ‘But you’re just not an Eleanor’.

Only of course I was. For 16 years.

So, the question of today feels a little redundant since I’ve already changed my first name and I think once is enough for me.

What about you though? Do you like your first name? Have you always liked it? And if you had to, what would you change your name to?

In summary: pondering.

This entry was published on November 22, 2011 at 9:26 pm. It’s filed under Randomness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

10 thoughts on “On names

  1. hmm, maybe someone should have pointed out the pronunciation of your name to our favourite younger sister. Whenever I think of your given name I always hear EL AN NOR, EL AN NOR, EL AN NOR in a loud cross voice!

    Much the same as I now listen to HOL LEEE, HOL LEEE, HOL LEEE from either Sophie or Lola while poor Holly tries to read, paint, play her clarinet or do her homework!

  2. Wee sister on said:

    EL-AN-NOOOOOOOOOR!!!!! Regardless of your name you are one of the most beautiful people I know and are immensely popular (you’ve had 16,750 hits on a blog about tea and knitting!!!)

    Love you lots my Ellidh Bellidh!
    Sarah xx

  3. I actually love my name, but my fave part (well one of them ) about having kids is picking their names – sadly never got to use my girl options!

  4. fiona lynne on said:

    I didn’t like my name as a child. The only other Fiona I knew of was a character in some ballet-themed books I read, where Fiona was the mean and spiteful big sister to the lovely and graceful Veronica. So I wanted to be Veronica. Hmm.
    But now I love it. It’s pretty unusual outside of the UK which I like, and I like that it ties me to part of my heritage (ie. being Scottish…)

    • ellidhcook on said:

      Veronica at the Wells!
      You’re right, that Fiona was a nasty wee thing wasn’t she? Although, FYI, she was Veronica – and the lovely Sebastian’s – cousin, not sister.
      In actual fact Fiona is a lovely name – almost as lovely as you!x

  5. Megan, Elizabeth & Harriet. As agreed with John – I also fancied Arwen, Verity and Hilde but John not keen!

  6. Enjoying that we get a pronunciation tip for ‘Eleanor’ but not for ‘Ellidh’, haha x

Leave a Reply

