surrounded by clouds

On Thursday highlights.

Today I have been in Durham.

Lots of good things about that, but today I especially loved SLOBS.

[For the unaware: SLOBS = Study Leaders Own Bible Study]

SLOBS in Durham is always a bit mysterious. There are lots and lots of small group leaders and so there is a SLOBS session on every day; the leaders are supposed to choose one group and go to it every week, but that doesn’t always happen so one can never really know who will come.

I have had a group of 15, a group of 6, a group of 1 and a group of zero, but today there were 3 (a very lovely size).

We’re looking at Ruth this term, and today we were in Ruth 1.

And no matter how many times I read it I can’t stop loving Ruth’s speech in v.16-17:

“Do not urge me to leave you or to return from following you. For where you go I will go, and where you lodge I will lodge. Your people shall be my people, and your God my God. Where you die I will die, and there will I be buried. May the LORD do so to me and more also if anything but death parts me from you.”

In summary: really looking forward to next Thursday.

This entry was published on January 19, 2012 at 10:52 pm. It’s filed under Work and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “On Thursday highlights.

  1. fiona lynne on said:

    I was just reading this passage again the other day. I’ve heard it used in weddings, but is so much more powerful when you remember that it’s between women – a friendship between women can be so powerful.

    Safe travel lady, can’t wait to see you later!!

Leave a Reply

