surrounded by clouds

On Feminine Fridays: (girl)friends.

As this post magically publishes itself I will be winging my way towards Germany for a weekend in the company of lovely Fiona and Hannah.

The three of us have been friends since first year of university when we met in halls, we lived together in second year, they both abandoned me in third year (Fi to the US and Hannah to Germany), and then I lived with Fi again in fourth year.

In our beautiful flat with the seat in the turret window. I miss that place.

I think friendship is a wonderful gift from God, and I thank him especially for girl-friends. These two in particular have been a real blessing to me in the last 8 and a bit years that I’ve known them. They (like a few other great friends) have challenged and encouraged and taught me many things, and they’ve bought me chocolate when I needed it most. That is the mark of a true friend.

I find it sad that we don’t all live in the same house any more – and I find the fact that I have a number of lovely friends who are scattered far and wide across the world to be generally upsetting.

Glasgow and Germany and Australia and Luxembourg and South Africa and Wales and America all feel very far away at times.

But it least it gives me a good excuse to travel, eh?

Fi and Hannah on West Sands in 2nd year (looking very, very young!)

In summary: grateful for lovely friends.

 

This entry was published on January 20, 2012 at 11:01 am. It’s filed under Feminine Fridays and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “On Feminine Fridays: (girl)friends.

  1. Aww, Hope you’re having a smashing time! I love you Ellie! :] And you said Wales! well, there we go, you just got 40 points. :] hahah xx

  2. AND… I have little breakdowns all the time about people being too far away. xx

Leave a Reply

