surrounded by clouds

On Monday.

Monday is a good day.

I’ve probably mentioned this before.

The reason I love Mondays so much is because I usually spend Mondays doing one-to-ones, which (and I’m sure I must have said this before) is pretty much my favourite part of my job.

Today was a little less full than a usual Monday, but I thought I’d mention a couple of highlights.

Catie and I met this morning, and we read through Revelation 5 together. The whole chapter is wonderful, and the picture of every creature in heaven, on earth, under the earth, on the sea and everything in them (v.13) praising God, is mind-blowing, but the verses that I loved especially today were these:

Then I saw in the right hand of the One seated on the throne a scroll with writing on the inside and on the back, sealed with seven seals. I also saw a mighty angel proclaiming in a loud voice, “Who is worthy to open the scroll and break its seals?” But no one in heaven or on earth or under the earth was able to open the scroll or even to look in it. And I cried and cried because no one was found worthy to open the scroll or even to look in it.

 Then one of the elders said to me, “Stop crying. Look! The Lion from the tribe of Judah, the Root of David, has been victorious so that He may open the scroll and its seven seals.” Revelation 5:1-5 (HCSB)

John’s reaction to the fact that there is no-one worthy to open the scroll – ‘I cried and cried’ – is heartbreaking, and the response of the elder is such good news. The Lion of Judah, the Root of David, the slaughtered lamb, our King, Jesus, is worthy, and that’s so, so wonderful.

Then this afternoon, Phoebe and I read through the randomness that is Melchizedek and Levites and Jesus in Hebrews 7. We had some good chat about Old Testament history and law – always, always fun – but the end of the chapter is my favourite:

‘For this is the kind of high priest we need: holy, innocent, undefiled, separated from sinners, and exalted above the heavens.  He doesn’t need to offer sacrifices every day, as high priests do—first for their own sins, then for those of the people. He did this once for all when He offered Himself. For the law appoints as high priests men who are weak, but the promise of the oath, which came after the law, appoints a Son, who has been perfected forever.’ Hebrews 7:26-28 

Love it. Love the Great High Priest.

In summary: hooray for Mondays, hooray for Jesus.

This entry was published on January 30, 2012 at 11:02 pm. It’s filed under Faith and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

