surrounded by clouds

On the Last Word.

I thought for today’s post I would introduce you to the place where I have been spending a lot my time over the last week.

One of the priorities of surviving a mission week is to identify a coffee source as soon as possible. During Newcastle CU’s week I will be bringing my own stash of coffee and a cafetiere to the prayer meetings, but that wasn’t really possible in Hull. We have had prayer meetings at 8:30 every morning, and then as they finish and the students drift off to class, Paul, JJ, Hamish and I make a plan for breakfast. Every morning I have had one, and only one, concern.

Coffee.

We tried a couple of different places in the vicinity, but there has been one hands-down winner:

The Last Word identifies itself as an ‘espresso bar and library’, and sits at the top of Hull’s student high street, Newland Avenue.

We discovered it on Tuesday evening, and quite a lot of time (and money) has been spent here since.

The coffee is excellent, and quite reasonably priced (£2 for a large cappuccino) and they offer a loyalty card ‘The Library Card’, which gives you a stamp for every drink you buy, and then a free drink after 8 stamps.

They sell delicious ‘wholemeal, doorstop toast’ for £1.50, and I do love toast.

The walls are full of books ‘available to purchase, or read whilst you are here’.

They have free WiFi.

The staff are lovely.

All winning in my book.

The Last Word has certainly been one of the bright spots in the Hull experience, and I will miss them when I leave.

If you should ever find yourself in Hull, do pay them a wee visit.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In summary: coffee is good.

This entry was published on February 11, 2012 at 11:30 am. It’s filed under Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “On the Last Word.

  1. It looks amazing! I love when coffee shops combine with something else and books are one of the best. When we were in the US and there were laundromats everywhere, R and I were planning to open a laundromat/awesome coffee house. So that you have somewhere nice to sit and drink while you wait for you laundry cycle to finish 😉

Leave a Reply

