surrounded by clouds

On the many social networks.

I’m a social networking fan. I do it. I talk about. I blog about it. I even did a seminar on it a couple of weeks ago.

I also find myself as part of a team of colleagues who, mostly, shun all things social or networky.

One or two of them understand the appeal, but most of them really, really don’t, and occasionally the conversation will drift into social network areas and I’ll be asked to justify my reasons for using them: ‘What’s the point?’, ‘How do they work?’ and ‘Why do you bother?’ are common questions, and so I thought I’d try and give some answers today.

Here are the ones I use:

Facebook – probably the most popular, but also probably my least favourite. It’s useful, and particularly helpful for attaching faces to names of the students that I work with, but there’s too much going on there. Too many people, too many adverts, and too many invites to ‘farmville’.

Twitter – one of my favourites, and one of the hardest to explain. I wrote a whole blog post about it before, and I think that may help to explain both what it is, and why I like it. Read it here.

WordPress – blogging is, obviously, great. But blogger is not nice, mostly, I think, because it is orange and blue, and that’s not very beautiful.

Pinterest – really hard to justify, because it doesn’t really seem to be useful. Basically it’s like making a scrapboard or pin-board of everything pretty that you see online. It isn’t useful, but it is beautiful and beauty is important.

Instagr.am – the most recent addition to my collection, but I’m not using it for the social network that it is in its own right. It is, basically, a smart phone app that puts a filter on the photos that you take so that they look a bit more interesting. Hence the reason that the photos on my blog have looked the way that they have over the last few posts.

Ravelry – social networking for knitters. Which covers two of my great loves. Incorporate Jesus and coffee in there too and it’d be perfect.

So, what about you? Are you a social networking lover, or Luddite? Or something in between?

In summary: networking.

 

 

This entry was published on March 14, 2012 at 8:32 pm. It’s filed under Randomness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

