surrounded by clouds

On living the Pollyanna way.

Today has not been an altogether good day.

However, I’m trying as hard as possible to ‘look on the bright side’.

When I was little I read the classic American children’s story, Pollyanna. This heart warming tale, written by Eleanor H. Porter (great name), is about an orphaned girl who moves to a small community to live with her aunt, and manages to change the lives of all whom she meets, as she introduces them to the ‘Glad Game’. A game which basically consists of trying to find a reason to be glad in every situation.

I liked the story well enough, and naturally I loved the film, since it starred Haley Mills in the title role, and she’s just swell. Mostly though, in the last 20 years or so since I first read the story, the glad game has stuck with me, and today was one of those days when it felt a little more necessary than usual.

Things that have been less than delightful this Wednesday include:

  • Monster-headache for most of the day.
  • A slow brain day, which caused me to get on to the wrong train, and then stay on it for three stops in the wrong direction, even managing to go across the river and into the neighbouring city, before I noticed.
  • Sparse attendance at the CU graduates tea party this afternoon.
  • And horrible, horrible un-May-like weather, with a high of 12 degrees. Twelve. Really.

It’s not been a bad day. No one I love has died, or been horrifically injured. I have food, and a roof over my head, and a job. I have so much more than so many people across the world, but it’s on days like this that I really need to channel old Pollyanna, and work a wee bit harder at remembering the little things that are good.

So…

  • Even though it hasn’t been warm today, it was sunny this morning, which gave me a good excuse to wear my new dress.
  • I have a new dress (and two new skirts) thanks to a sale at Marks and Spencer, and a voucher that meant my purchases were basically free.
  • Because only 2 students turned up to the tea party, we had lots of spare scones left over. We have team days tomorrow, and all of those spare scones meant I didn’t need to bake.
  • I bought a Starburst milkshake from McDonald’s on the way home, and it was super-delicious.

However, I’m still finding it pretty hard to find the glad in the headache, or the train journey. Any ideas would be gratefully received.

This entry was published on May 16, 2012 at 9:45 pm. It’s filed under Randomness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “On living the Pollyanna way.

  1. Be glad you just had a headache and didn’t need the crutches from the missionary barrel? 😉

Leave a Reply

