surrounded by clouds

On salad smugness.

Today I enjoyed lunch with a friend from church.

Enjoyed because of the company, natch.

But also enjoyed because of the lunch itself.

We went to Olive and Bean, one of my absolute favourite Newcastle eateries, and I partook of one of their delightful salads, containing all the usual green things, as well as chicken, bacon, and avocado.

However, there’s just something about eating a salad, which I find confusing.

On the plus side: it looks beautiful (all those bright colours) and it gives one a terribly worthy feeling; a feeling of health and goodness, which I can only identify as salad smugness.

However, on the negative side: it often doesn’t live up to expectations, as I find myself feeling somewhat unsatisfied, and sure that the meal is lacking in something (usually in the carbohydrate food group), and the salad smugness does have a tendency to leave me eating a large amount of less worthy foods for the rest of the day; as if the fact that I just ate a bowl of leaves at lunch allows me to eat a bag of doughnuts, a packet of biscuits and a chip butty for tea (not that I’m necessarily saying that that’s what happened today. Maybe.)

What about you? Does the idea of salad as a meal fit in your world?

In summary: swings and roundabouts.

This entry was published on May 21, 2012 at 9:02 pm. It’s filed under Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “On salad smugness.

  1. chip butty! win if you did eat this. Totally know what you mean, i trained myself to eat salad because it looked healthy! Sado!

  2. I feel the same way! If I eat salad, I have to have at least 2 or 3 breadsticks too, or something that cancels out the reason I’d be eating the salad 🙂

  3. Hannah on said:

    I love salad…but not usually as a meal replacement, only enhancer 🙂

Leave a Reply

