surrounded by clouds

On my new favourite thing.

The internet is a wonderful, wonderful thing, and today I found yet another reason to love it.

NoiseTrade.

Have you heard about it before? And if so, why did you not tell me?

Basically, it’s a website full of free, legal, downloadable music. I don’t really need to say an awful lot more than that, do I?

I need to do a bit more exploring and discovering, but for now I’m really enjoying my first NoiseTrade download: The Hymn Sing: Live in Nashville from Indelible Grace Music

These wonderful songs kept me company in Starbucks today whilst I worked, doing an excellent job of drowning out the horribly loud music that they were playing, and the horribly annoying conversation that the couple were having on the table next to me; my favourite is this one:

A wonderful tune, and more wonderful words. I love all of the verses, but here’s the first one to enjoy:

Jesus, I my cross have taken, All to leave and follow Thee;
Destitute, despised, forsaken, Thou from hence my All shalt be.
Perish every fond ambition, All I’ve sought or hoped or known;
Yet how rich is my condition! God and heaven are still my own.

Henry Francis Lyte, 1793 – 1847

Beautiful.

What is your favourite tune of the moment?

In summary: glad for free stuff.

This entry was published on June 14, 2012 at 8:00 pm. It’s filed under Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “On my new favourite thing.

  1. I love Noisetrade. I’ve been finding amazing music there for over a year. I’m sure I’ve mentioned it on my blog before so no excuses 😉
    I also try and make an effort to “tip” the artists I download, even if it’s not as much as I would like. Because they put a lot of effort into making something I enjoy, and I want to make sure they can keep doing that!
    Have you discovered Josh Garrells? He’s my favourite Noisetrade discovery. I’ve listened to his album every week for the last eight months. And all my Christmas music came from there this year.

Leave a Reply

