surrounded by clouds

On my top 5.

Last week, during half time of that football match that I was not-very-quietly enduring, I made a declaration about football as ‘one of the worst inventions of all time’.

Pete asked me if it would make a list of ‘Top 5 worst inventions’, and if so, what would the other four be?

At that point I could only name 3:

  • Football – boring, but somehow popular.
  • Instant coffee – not coffee, an abomination.
  • Atomic bombs – no explanation necessary.

The following day I came up with the other two:

  • Reality TV – indulging and encouraging the nation’s obsession with ‘celebrity’, ridicule and ‘tragic life stories’.
  • Netball – because the ‘no travelling’ rule is stupid, and every lesson we played it at school someone broke a finger.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So, those are my top 5 ‘worsts’, what about my top 5 ‘bests’?

This is a little harder – which gives a worrying, but probably accurate, insight into my personality – but off the top of my head I think I’ll say:

  • Knitting – that string and sticks could make fabric is wonderful, and the inventor, whoever they were, is nothing short of a genius.
  • Writing – books are a wonderful, wonderful thing.
  • Contact lenses – almost magical in their wonderfulness.
  • Chocolate – no explanation necessary.

I can’t think of a 5th. There are lots of things that are good, obviously, but are any of them great enough to claim that last spot in the top 5? I’m not sure.

What about you? What would you put in your top 5 worst or best inventions? Or do you think any of mine are woefully misplaced?

In summary: making lists.

This entry was published on June 26, 2012 at 7:59 pm. It’s filed under Randomness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “On my top 5.

  1. Rob Cook on said:

    C’mon Ellidh! Only four for your top 5? If this were a Sunday School class, what would the answer be?

    • ellidhcook on said:

      The key word in the classification is ‘invention’, and so unless you’re encouraging me to be this generation’s Arius, I’m probably not going to include JC in my list. 😉

Leave a Reply

