surrounded by clouds

On Shakespearean sewing.

Today, to accompany my Olympic watching (rowing, I wept; cycling, I was impressed; basketball, I was on the edge of my seat), I have been considering various handicrafts. I’ve begun my experiments in weaving, I’ve purchased materials to allow an adventure in pin lace, and I’ve started work on a new cross-stitch.

My life is pretty rock ‘n’ roll, eh?

The cross-stitch in question was mainly chosen for its price: £5, but it’s going to be quite sweet once it’s done.

The design is a quote from Love’s Labour’s Lost, and includes a spray of the flowers mentioned in the verse:

When daisies pied and violets blue
And lady-smocks all silver-white
And cuckoo-buds of yellow hue
Do paint the meadows with delight,

William Shakespeare

I don’t really know the play that well. I did watch the film version of it in 2000 (with Kenneth Branagh and Alicia Silverstone), but that was 12 years ago, and the film was really not very good.

I’m also not sure that the above quote is a particularly pivotal moment in the unfolding plot, but it is about flowers, and flowers do look awfully nice on a cross-stitch. I do wonder if Shakespeare would approve of his verses being plucked out of their context and shoved in a needlework sampler. Somehow I doubt it, but frankly, tough. He cannae stop me now.

In summary: butchering the Bard with a needle and some embroidery thread.

This entry was published on August 3, 2012 at 9:39 pm. It’s filed under Play and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

