surrounded by clouds

On letters.

Today I received 3 letters in the post. 2 of them were bills (boo!) but 1 of them was a lovely, personal letter, and more than that, in fact it was a lovely. personal letter sent from overseas (hooray!)

The reason for the letter will come in another future post, but I did want to briefly remark on the unusual addition to my letter: a bright yellow seal courtesy of UK Customs.

I don’t know what it was that was so very suspicious about this particular unassuming, white envelope from the Netherlands, but the yellow label tells me that they opened my post, checked it, and then re-sealed it.

Obviously the contents passed the test and my letter was sent on to me. So pleased. Confused, but pleased. And glad that the UK Customs folk are working hard.

In summary: approved mail.

This entry was published on September 10, 2012 at 7:41 pm. It’s filed under Randomness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “On letters.

  1. YEY! I know what this was and it makes me kinda giddy with excitement 🙂

  2. Hey 🙂 It is me the sender of the envelope (I was able to get here by searching a bit on Fiona’s blog archives, sorry for the stalking, but I was too curious).
    I just got my own little envelope from overseas right now, I am so happy and curious.
    Anyway… I guess the reason they opened the envelope was that I put 2 teabags and a powdered coffee envelope inside (for your enjoyment while reading 😉 )… did you get those too ? Somehow they must have been able to see those through a scanner or so….

    • ellidhcook on said:

      Hey Amanda!
      Thanks for the visit, and the comment, and the recipe! And thanks for the tea too – yes I did get it, perhaps that was what got them interested in the first place but they’ve let me keep it and I’ll save it to drink with the cake when I make it!
      Ellidh x

Leave a Reply

