surrounded by clouds

On getting back to the barre.

This evening I did something pretty monumental: after a ten year absence, I pulled out my leotard and shoes and plodded my way through a ballet class.

From the age of seven ballet was part of every week, and when I was about 13 I added an extra class, and the classes got longer. My last few years of school saw me dancing for about 4 hours a week, which was exhausting but wonderful.

I’d had big plans to go to drama school after 6th form, which would have kept me dancing, and then 6 months before leaving school (and about a week before handing in my uni applications) I changed my mind and decided that I wanted to study theology instead. I love theology, and I loved studying it at St Andrews, but neither the course nor the uni gave me much opportunity to continue balletic pursuits, and other than a brief foray into the world of Irish dancing, these dancing feet of mine have done very little in the last decade.

Tonight that changed. It was lots of fun, but boy was it hard-work!

Jeté and plié and port de bras are words that I haven’t heard in a long time, but it turns out that this body-memory stuff does count for something, because it all came flooding back (along with the pain!).

 

In summary: tired, but in a good way.

This entry was published on September 20, 2012 at 9:27 pm. It’s filed under Play and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “On getting back to the barre.

  1. fiona lynne on said:

    Oooh, this is exciting! I’ve been toying with the idea of picking up dancing classes again. Mostly because Rasmus is getting fed up of me talking about it and never doing anything about it. I miss dancing, but I’m not sure what it would be like being in an adult class. Did you enjoy it? What were the other people in the class like? I want to hear more!

    • ellidhcook on said:

      I’m sure more ballet-related posts will be forthcoming, but yes I did enjoy it, although I’m still sore two days later! Hopefully that will improve.x

  2. I’m currently working on a website called The Adult Ballerina project, and I was wondering if you’d be interesting in doing an interview about your experience with starting ballet classes again once the project is up and running. You can read some about it here on my blog, about my experience with ballet classes: http://kristengillette.wordpress.com/2012/09/16/i-need-your-help-for-photograph-ideasthe-adult-ballerina-project/.

    Let me know if you’d be interested in that in the future! I can send you more information about The Adult Ballerina Project too if you’d like.

  3. John and I started ballroom dancing again after a 10+ year gap since university. Great fun but sometimes we feel our age!!!

    • ellidhcook on said:

      I’m glad you’re enjoying it Cassie. Memories of you and John salsa-ing in the King’s, Bruton dining room as a workshop advert always make me smile!x

Leave a Reply

