surrounded by clouds

On Back to the Barre: finding my groove.

A few weeks ago I bemoaned the fact that going back to ballet was hard because of the frustration of my body having forgotten how to do things that used to come so very naturally.

It’s still true, but the situation is definitely improving.

It is a fact that since I last did ballet I am ten years older, and at least four stone heavier. I have tendonitis in one shoulder, and sesamoiditis in one foot, and the rest of me is a lot more creaky, and a lot less flexible.

And yet, I’m definitely getting better. My mind has remembered all the old steps, and now my body is beginning to catch up.

One of the ladies in my class is taking the Grade 5 exam on Sunday, and so after that we’ll move on to learning the syllabus for a different class, specifically, Standard 7 (which I’ve also taken before). However, I’ve also decided to start taking a second class, this time Intermediate, which is one of the vocational classes (i.e. not just a ‘children’s’ grade), and actually the class that I was taking when I stopped dancing as an 18 year old.

I’m excited to work on something a bit more complicated, but it does require me to do a bit of pointe work (which my poor feet won’t be happy about), and does mean taking a class with a gaggle of 17 year olds (which may not do great things for my self-esteem!).

We shall see.

In summary: getting back in the swing of things.

This entry was published on November 8, 2012 at 9:12 pm. It’s filed under Back to the Barre and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

