surrounded by clouds

On Les Misérables

Last night I finally saw Les Misérables, after a wait of a couple of years since I first heard rumours of the production.

And, gosh, it did not disappoint.

les misI have never cried so much in a film. I started about fifteen minutes in, at the first appearance of the Bishop of Digne, and barely stopped for the two and a quarter hours that remained. That may not sound like the highest endorsement, but trust me, it is.

It was so wonderful. So sad, and so beautiful.

Anne Hathaway was genuinely wonderful as Fantine, Hugh Jackman made a marvellous Jean Valjean, and Eddie Redmayne was great, especially his performance of ‘Empty Chairs at Empty Tables’. Oh, and the combination of Helena Bonham Carter and Sacha Baron Cohen as the Thénardiers was nothing short of genius.

I have loved this musical for a really, really long time. Even through years of performing ‘On My Own’, which was my ‘popular’ party piece (as opposed to my ‘classical’ piece, which was Pie Jesu from Fauré’s Requiem in D Minor, in case you were wondering), for wheeling out at concerts when I hadn’t had time to practice something else, I still have great love and affection for all things Les Mis, so I was a little afraid that they might ruin it. But they sure didn’t.

So, so, so good, and lots of food for thought on the whole grace, mercy, forgiveness, law and justice front. So, don’t be surprised if there are a few more Les Mis-related posts on their way soon.

In summary: do you hear the people sing?

This entry was published on January 23, 2013 at 10:02 pm. It’s filed under Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

