surrounded by clouds

On my crowning glory.

Judge in yourselves: is it comely that a woman pray unto God uncovered? Doth not even nature itself teach you, that, if a man have long hair, it is a shame unto him? But if a woman have long hair, it is a glory to her: for her hair is given her for a covering.

1 Corinthians  11:13-15

I am one of those long-haired ladies. Not the kind who think long hair is more godly or modest or anything odd like that, just the kind who has long hair. Really, really long hair.

Bear in mind, my hair is probably another 10 cm longer than this now.

Champagne & long hair (although still shorter than it is these days).

I often wear it up, and it’s pretty fine, so it doesn’t seem as if there’s a lot there. However, every single day I wear it down, someone will come up to me and say something along the lines of, ‘Wow! Your hair is so long? Has it always been so long?’

The answer to that question, as I’m sure you won’t be shocked to hear, is: No. My hair has not always been that long. Obviously I wasn’t born with hair that long, or, in fact have I been growing it continually since childhood.

Valedictory Dinner 2004

Short hair (and a younger face).

Here’s some proof, in the form of a photo taken when I was in first year of university. It was about 6 months after this that I started growing it, and I have been since then (8 years ago).

But. Breaking news. I think I’m going to get it all cut off again.

I am a little afraid that it won’t grow back as long as it is now, because I hear rumours that once one reaches a certain age hair slows down, and I would like to have hair this long again, since I have a great wish to be an old lady with long grey hair one day. So if anyone has any knowledge they’d like to share regarding this matter then I’d appreciate hearing it.

Also, since I do have a lot of hair, that’s quite a lot of hair to have cut off (my guess would be about 40 centimetres worth). I understand that one can donate hair to charities providing wigs to children who are suffering hair loss. My question is? Do any of you know whether that’s something that can be done in the UK?

Point me in the right direction, please!

In summary: getting rid of it.

This entry was published on January 28, 2013 at 9:26 pm. It’s filed under Randomness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “On my crowning glory.

  1. garethleaney on said:

    You can donate your hair to Cancer Research (not that I’ve ever been in a position to try):
    http://www.cancerresearchuk.org/cancer-help/about-cancer/cancer-questions/hair-donation-and-wigs

  2. Pingback: On the continuing saga of my hair. « surrounded by clouds

Leave a Reply

