surrounded by clouds

On late at night.

I’m writing this blog from on board a train back to Newcastle from Durham – the second time in as many days that I’ve done this late-night journey.

I like travelling by train, and for commuting between my two university cities there’s nothing better. To drive takes at least half an hour (but usually much longer) whereas the train is a mere 12 minutes.

But at night I’m less of a fan. And particularly this evening when I faced the traveller’s frustration: waiting.

A combination of delayed train and a waiting room that closes at eight PM has had me shivering on the platform for half an hour. And my immediate future looks like a Metro ride, followed by a brisk walk back home with my keys clutched in my fist (ready to stab any would-be-rapist in the eye).

At times like these I do not enjoy my commute. Not one little bit.

Still, home is near enough.  And that’s a reason to rejoice.

In summary: chilly.

This entry was published on March 19, 2013 at 10:27 pm. It’s filed under Randomness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

