surrounded by clouds

On found dogs.

Amidst all of the tragedy on the news, there has been one happy story that has been doing the social-networking rounds over the last couple of days. If you’ve been on Facebook in the last 24 hours then you will have almost certainly seen it:

For those who haven’t watched, and, in fact, have no desire to watch it, allow me to summarise: there was a horrible tornado in Oklahoma, lots of people died and were injured, and homes were destroyed. This woman survived her house being torn down, but lost her dog during the storm. During the course of this TV interview, as she is describing the tornado, the interviewer catches sight of her dog, and they manage to get it out from the rubble, alive. Woman is reunited with previously-lost dog. The end.

Today I had weekly supervision with the Relays, and Phoebe spent about 4 hours trying to persuade me to watch the video, while I refused. In the end, she acted it out for me (which was a treat in and of itself, frankly – especially with the accent), but I still didn’t want to watch the video.

Why?

I can’t quite work it out. Because it really is a lovely story: lost being found, a glimmer of hope in a scene of destruction, etc.

But, I am a crier, and I don’t like it. I do all I can to be nice and British and bury my emotions down deep, but then my tear-ducts let me down at the most unhelpful moments.

I will cry at adverts, like this one:

I will cry at songs, including once, whilst listening to this while on the Metro home:

Anything a bit sad, or a bit happy, or bit filled with any sort of emotion, frankly, makes my eyes fill with tears, and I don’t like it. I don’t want to be a crier, especially when the thing I’m crying about isn’t really that sad, or that happy, or that whatever.

Les Mis is sad, but it’s not real. I’m glad the woman found her dog, but am I ‘crying’ glad? And, well, I don’t know why the John Lewis advert makes me cry, and that in itself is annoying.

Mental. Me, I mean.

Anything weird made you get a bit teary recently?

In summary: weeper.

This entry was published on May 22, 2013 at 8:26 pm and is filed under Randomness. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “On found dogs.

  1. Reblogged this on Sophia's Voice and commented:
    This is so truly beautiful!! 🙂

  2. And call me controversial, but how many people who wept over the dog thing wept over the folk who’d lost children? We are way too sentimental about animals and often indifferent to human suffering 😦

  3. Reblogged this on Jennett For EDM and commented:
    I was watching the news when this came on, and I cried when she found her dog….

Leave a Reply

