surrounded by clouds

On hats

If I could live in any time other than the one I do, I’d choose the 1920s and 30s, assuming, of course, that I were living the life of one of entirely independent means; the kind of money entirely unaffected by the stock market crash.

downtonabbeyladiesA life of leisure and luxury and the occasional travel adventure to act as a delightfully entertaining diversion. Imagine Agatha Christie’s Murder on the Orient Express, although without the inconvenience of any violent crimes, natch.

Aside from the obvious benefits of pots of money, I think the most appealing thing about living this life involves the outfits, and, to be more specific, the headgear.

I adore hats, and I wish they were usual for every day attire, because then I would certainly wear them every day. As it is, I’m currently on the look out for two hats for wearing in the near future: a straw hat of some style or another to be worn on my approaching mysterious trip abroad; and an occasion hat, perhaps a fascinator, to wear at one of the weddings I’m attending this summer.

Here’s my Hats page on Pinterest. If you’ve seen any hats out on the high street, please do feel free to point me in the right direction; and in the meantime, here’s a question for you, dear reader: if you could live in any time period in history, which would it be, and why?

In summary: millinery lover.

This entry was published on June 4, 2013 at 8:20 pm. It’s filed under Randomness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

