surrounded by clouds

On what might have been.

Back in the early years of this 21st century of ours I wanted to be an actress.

The stage was my life, darling.

Ballet, singing, acting, was how I spent most of my time, and I had plans to go and study theatre at university, until, a week before I was supposed to send off my UCAS form (college applications), I had the sudden, life-changing realisation that, even though I did love the stage and all that it meant, I actually didn’t really want to be an actress that badly. I didn’t care enough to try hard, and I didn’t want to spend the next three years hanging out with and competing with a bunch of people who did. So, I trashed that form, had a rethink, and here we are, 12 years later, and I have a degree in Theology, not Acting.

Good decision.

But, now and again, I do love a trip to the theatre to remember the good old days, and imagine what life might have been like.

Pippa Nixon and Alex Waldmann in As You Like It
Tonight, Vic, Sarah, and I headed down to the Theatre Royal to see the RSC perform As You Like It, for the first time in 13 years. Last time I saw it was also at the Theatre Royal, and also by the RSC, and it was okay. This time it was really, really excellent. Funny, and charming, and clever, and beautiful, and an epilogue by a girl.

Feminism win.

It does make me wish I was an actress, but only a little bit. Theology still wins, I think.

In summary: drama.

This entry was published on October 29, 2013 at 10:45 pm and is filed under Randomness. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

